Meadow End Barn

Meadow End Barn is in in the middle of Dorstone, near Hay-on-Wye on the Herefordshire/Powys border. It's 15 miles from Hereford and 20 miles from Brecon, in a village setting in beautiful countryside in the Golden Valley.

Peterchurch, three miles away, has a village shop, and Hay-on-Wye, six miles away, has plenty of independent shops, good foodie cafés and restaurants and lots of good local pubs.

There are supermarkets in Hay-on-Wye and Hereford, and a busy market day in Hay every Thursday (www.haymarkets.co.uk).

location

 

The Pandy Inn is the oldest pub in Herefordshire and is a three minute walk away. We also recommend The Nag's Head in Peterchurch, where the fire is always lit, and The Blue Boar in Hay.

There are many great places to eat out in Hay-on-Wye and the surrounding area.

In Hay 

The Blue Boar, Castle Street | Richard Booth's Bookshop Café

A bit further 

The Felin Fach Griffin, near Brecon | A Rule of Tum, Hereford

Locally 

The Nag's Head, Peterchurch | The Pandy Inn, Dorstone

For a special occasion

Llangoed Hall Hotel, Llyswen | Castle House Hotel, Hereford

Private catering

Bernie Herman at A Moveable Feast, 07779 780 833

pubs & dining out

 

walking & other activities

The Barn is in a great walking area, with the Black Mountains and the Brecon Beacons on the doorstep, and there are many other activities on offer, including mountain biking, fishing, climbing, paragliding, and much more...

Walking – the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons offer endless possibilities for short walks and long hikes. 
Offa's Dyke Trail – offas-dyke.co.uk

The Wye Valley Walk – wyevalleywalk.org

Horse riding – a wealth of local riding centres offer rides for both beginners and experienced riders.
Tregoyd Mountain Riders – tregoydriding.co.uk
Canoeing and kayaking on the River Wye – popular route starts in nearby Glasbury-on-Wye and ends in Hay.
Wye Valley Canoes – wyevalleycanoes.co.uk
Wild swimming in the River Wye – take a picnic!
Golf courses at Madley (six miles), Wormsley (eight miles) and Burghill (ten miles).
Tennis courts in Hay (six miles).
Fishing – wyeuskfoundation.org
Days out for all the family.
Black Mountain Adventure – www.blackmountain.co.uk
Small Breeds Farm Park & Owl Centre – owlcentre.com
 

local information

There are many more events, festivals and great things to do in our area. You can find out more from local tourist information centres. Here are some of our favourites...

Hay Festival – www.hayfestival.com

Abergavenny Food Festival – www.abergavennyfoodfestival.com

Hereford Cathedral – www.herefordcathedral.org

Visit Herefordshire – www.visitherefordshire.co.uk

Visit Wales – www.visitwales.com

Mid Wales My Way – www.midwalesmyway.com